Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region (Xinjiang) is an important political, economic, trade, financial, tourism, cultural educational, science and technology centre in northwest China. Xinjiang is bordered by eight countries: Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Mongolia, India, and Afghanistan. With a total area of 1.6 million km2, Xinjiang is the largest province of China and occupies one-sixth of the country. According to the Government's development blueprint, Xinjiang will be transportation communication hub connecting the inland, central Asian and European countries.

The Central Government of China supports the development of Xinjiang. Under the China Western Development Policy, preferential treatment of Xinjiang is granted in both policy and capital aspects. According to the Xinjiang Information Net, the GDP of Xinjiang remained in double-digit growth even in a weak global economy. In the first three quarters of 2014, Xinjiang recorded ¥39.79 billion in investment in fixed assets, the growth ranked second place in the country1. For the whole year of 2013, it is expected to reach US$27 billion in foreign trade, a 9.5% increase from 20122. Among the imported commodities, resources such as iron ore remain the major category2. Xinjiang will be more prosperous with the continued support of the national implementation of the 12th Five-Year Plan.


  1. Xinjiang Information Net
  2. Xinjiang Agriculture Information Net